A week of reviews: Final Fantasy III

20161224123541_1

Yesterday was spent hungover and traveling so it became somewhat of a right-off, and so today I figured to stick to my goal I’d give you two short posts. Continuing my week of Christmas Sale reviews, today’s Steam review is for Final Fantasy III. I have played this game once upon a time on Nintendo DS, though I never got to the end. So, I figured it was the perfect opportunity to see if I could fathom the patience to do it this time around.

While it definitely has its perks and the same adorable graphics I loved with the original version, I have to say I’m honestly slightly disappointed. Rather than engaging and puzzling, I genuinely found the lack of direction and explanation of my quest more frustrating than anything, and I’ve died countless times. I don’t know, it just seems a little more simple and less polished than the kinds of Final Fantasy games I do remember playing. Maybe if I could get a little further it would be better, because the story does sound promising, but unfortunately, it’s just more of an effort than a joy to complete a dungeon.

I’ve read good things about it, and I did remember its adorableness, but I just can’t get into it this time round. There are just better Final Fantasy titles out there and that’s all there is to it. In fact, this is the first game of the week I probably wouldn’t recommend, unless you are already a massive Final Fantasy fan who simply missed this one out.

Leave a Reply

